There is no single best tool: it depends on where the sites are and what the client needs to see. On six criteria (local tariffs, meter-data checks, a bill checked against the invoices, dispatch, the client report and a visible price), HOMER Grid fits North American portfolios, REopt is the free optimiser, Furo is the closest European planner (Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Spain), PV*SOL and PVsyst are PV-first, and Zorowatt is built for Dutch, German and Romanian sites. Zorowatt wrote this article; the other tools' facts were read on their own pages on 2026-10-28.
Who wrote this, and how
Zorowatt wrote this article, and Zorowatt is one of the tools in it. The facts about the other tools come from their own public pages (and, where named, a press release or a trade magazine), read on 2026-10-28; we have not run the other tools ourselves. Where a page did not say something, this article says "not stated in the pages read", not "no". Nobody paid to be included and there are no affiliate links. If a vendor finds an error, write to [email protected] and we correct it with the date.
Because we make one of the tools, this article does not rank them. It states the criteria, shows what each tool's own pages say against them, and says which job each one fits. You can apply the same criteria to any tool that is not listed here.
The six criteria
- Tariffs for the country where the site is. What a battery saves on a business site depends on the tariff: a kW charge, a kW contract, time-of-use or dynamic energy prices. A tool either carries that country's tariffs, with their source and year, or you type them in for every study.
- Meter data import and checks. A year of 15-minute data is 35,040 values (365 × 96). Gaps, the doubled hour of the autumn daylight-saving day, kW read as kWh or a cumulative register will size the battery for you if nobody catches them.
- The bill rebuilt and checked against the invoices. If the model cannot reproduce last year's bill from last year's data, its savings figure has nothing to stand on.
- Dispatch. How the battery is assumed to run: a rule a real energy management system can follow, or an optimum with perfect foresight, and whether the tool handles peak charges, a connection limit, solar and arbitrage.
- Financials and the client report. NPV, IRR and payback with degradation and replacement, and a report a client's finance team can follow.
- A price you can see, and a way to try it. Many consultants decide before a demo call.
Not criteria here: user reviews and ratings (not collected for this article), market share (no source found) and speed (we did not time the tools).
Which tool for which job
- North American sites, or wind and EV charging in one least-cost design: HOMER Grid. Its built-in tariff database covers much of North America, Mexico and Canada (HOMER Grid). See HOMER Grid vs Zorowatt.
- US solar and storage development with proposals and controller hardware from one company: Energy Toolbase (pricing page). See Energy Toolbase vs Zorowatt.
- A free, open-source optimiser with an API, inputs prepared by you: REopt (US DOE, REopt.jl). See REopt vs Zorowatt.
- Designing the PV array in 3D, with the battery as part of the PV system: PV*SOL premium (Valentin Software). See PV*SOL vs Zorowatt.
- A detailed PV yield simulation: PVsyst (pvsyst.com). It answers a different question from battery sizing. See PVsyst vs Zorowatt.
- German, Austrian, Swiss or Spanish C&I sites, with operation and trading from the same company for 150 kW and more: Furo (furoenergy.com, press release). See Furo vs Zorowatt.
- Many sites, assets and energy markets at once: Gridcog (gridcog.com). See Gridcog vs Zorowatt.
- An occasional study with a simple tariff: a spreadsheet you build yourself. See Excel vs Zorowatt.
- Dutch, German or Romanian sites where the bill has to be rebuilt from 15-minute data and checked against the invoices before the battery is sized: Zorowatt, the tool that wrote this article.
Published prices
Read on 2026-10-28 on the pages linked in each row; Zorowatt's own prices are today's. Prices exclude VAT where the vendor says so.
| Tool | Published price | Source |
|---|---|---|
| HOMER Grid | Standard Annual $4,200 / year (one user); Standard Monthly $665 / month; Enterprise by quote; free trial | homerenergy.com |
| Energy Toolbase (ETB Developer) | No published price ("Request Pricing", by team size after a demo call); ETB Monitor and Controller hardware priced separately | energytoolbase.com |
| REopt | Free; REopt.jl is licensed Apache-2.0 | energy.gov, GitHub |
| PV*SOL premium | €845 + VAT per one-year named-user licence | valentin-software.com |
| PVsyst | Professional CHF 700 / year | pvsyst.com |
| Furo | No published price; "Try it free"; a subscription model, according to its press release | furoenergy.com, press release |
| Gridcog | No published price; plans by active sites a month and energy markets (Core: 5 sites, 1 market; Plus: 10 sites, 3 markets; Enterprise) | gridcog.com |
| Spreadsheet | The licence you already have, plus your time | — |
| Zorowatt | Zorowatt Starter is €49 a month for 3 site analyses, then €15 each; Pro is €149 a month with a white-label report and 3 seats. Your first site analysis is free, with no card, and its PDF report carries a watermark. | Pricing |
The criteria, tool by tool
"Not stated in the pages read" means the public pages read on 2026-10-28 did not say; it does not mean the tool cannot do it.
| Tool | Tariffs | Meter data | Bill vs invoices | Dispatch | Report |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HOMER Grid | Database for much of North America, Mexico and Canada; no European one named | Not stated in the pages read | Energy cost under the chosen tariff; bill import not confirmed | Least-cost PV, wind, battery and EV charging; demand-charge reduction | Client-facing proposal reports |
| Energy Toolbase | Rate and incentive modelling; the incentives named are American | Not stated in the pages read | Rate modelling; invoice check not stated | Storage revenue streams | Proposal generation |
| REopt | Not stated in the pages read | Not stated in the pages read | Not stated in the pages read | Optimal sizing and dispatch as LP or MILP; PV, wind, CHP and storage together | Not stated in the pages read |
| PV*SOL premium | Feed-in tariff database; several grid tariffs per consumer; peak (Leistungspreis) charges not mentioned | Load profiles, including measured values | Not stated in the pages read | Charging strategy, including time-controlled charge and discharge | Word or PDF with logo; 24 languages |
| PVsyst | Not stated in the pages read | Not stated in the pages read | Not stated in the pages read | Not verified: its storage help pages returned 404 | Not stated in the pages read |
| Furo | Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Spain; grid fees incl. Leistungspreis and high-load windows entered | Load-profile upload with the site's address | No published bill reconstruction found | Optimal size and strategy: self-consumption, dynamic tariffs, peak shaving, atypical grid use | Customer-ready documents, generated |
| Gridcog | Content on German co-location and the Nordic markets | Not stated in the pages read | Network charges modelled | Multi-market, multi-site, multi-asset simulation | Not stated in the pages read |
| Spreadsheet | What you type in | 35,040 rows a year, checked by hand | Built by hand per tariff; invoices typed in | Formulas you write and test | Formatted by hand |
| Zorowatt | Versioned 2026 tariffs with sources: NL (Liander, Stedin, Enexis; ACM 2028 draft as a scenario), DE (NEW Netz, Netze BW, RheinNetz), RO (ANRE zones); a generic template elsewhere | CSV, Excel, MSCONS, Green Button; gaps, duplicates, daylight saving and kW / kWh mix-ups flagged | Rebuilt per month, checked against each invoice line with stated tolerances | Rule-based, with the optimal (LP) dispatch as the upper bound; peak and connection-limit modes | PDF with a data-quality appendix and the tariff sources; white-label on Pro |
Sources for each cell: HOMER Grid, Energy Toolbase, REopt.jl, PV*SOL premium, PVsyst, Furo and pv magazine on Lumera, 17 Feb 2026, Gridcog. Each of Zorowatt's comparison pages links the source next to every cell.
Notes on each tool
HOMER Grid (UL Solutions) is the broader engineering model: grid-connected PV, wind, batteries and EV charging, the least-cost configuration, ROI and battery life, and client-facing proposals (HOMER Grid). For a US or Canadian portfolio its tariff database is the reason to choose it. UL's price list also shows a shared licence at $10,100 a year (UL Solutions).
Energy Toolbase sells ETB Developer for modelling and proposals next to its own ETB Controller and ETB Monitor hardware; Monitor starts at $4,700 and Controller bundles at $12,400 or $34,000 (pricing page). Its help pages on rates and data import were seen only as search snippets, so this article makes no claim about its European coverage.
REopt is the strongest optimiser here and costs nothing; it has a web tool, an API and a Julia package, and is aimed at federal agencies, researchers and engineers (US DOE, web tool). Zorowatt has no customer API yet, so for programmatic work REopt is ahead.
PV*SOL premium is the fuller PV design tool, with a battery database, load-profile import, a 20-year financial analysis and reports in 24 languages (Valentin Software). Many installers will design the array there and size the battery elsewhere.
PVsyst is PV yield simulation with a profitability calculation (pvsyst.com). It is in this list because it is often named next to battery tools, not because it competes on battery sizing.
Furo (formerly Lumera Energy, Munich) is the closest to Zorowatt: upload a load profile, get the optimal size, the use cases and customer-ready documents, and since May 2026 real-time optimisation and automated trading for systems of 150 kW and more (Furo, press release). Its press release reports more than 3,500 sites planned or optimised and about 100 paying customers.
Gridcog models many sites, assets and markets, for utility-scale developers, e-mobility businesses, consultants and energy majors (Gridcog). It does more than a single-site behind-the-meter study needs; for portfolio work that is the point.
A spreadsheet is cheap, flexible and fully under your control. Its cost shows in the second and third study, when the import, the daylight-saving days and the tariff are rebuilt or re-checked. See Excel vs a feasibility tool.
Where Zorowatt is the weaker choice
- No API for customers yet (REopt has one).
- The Workspace and the PDF report are in English only; the public site and the free tools are also in Dutch, German and Romanian (PV*SOL's reports come in 24 languages).
- Built-in tariffs for three countries; anywhere else you enter the rates in a generic template (HOMER Grid has North America built in).
- Planning only: no live battery control and no trading (Furo operates and trades larger systems).
- No wind, CHP or front-of-meter projects (HOMER Grid, REopt and Gridcog go further).
- The PDF is printed from the browser; there is no Word export.
- Zorowatt is new. Its engine is tested against analytical cases; a comparison against REopt and HOMER Grid and an independent expert review of the bill reconstruction are planned, not done.
How to choose in an afternoon
- List the countries of your next ten sites. If a tool has no tariffs for them, count the time to type them in, every year they change.
- Take one real site with 12 months of 15-minute data and its invoices. Run the file through the free meter data checker first, so every tool gets clean data.
- Run that site in each tool's free trial. Compare the rebuilt bill with the invoices before you compare battery sizes.
- Look at the report as your client would: can a finance team see the tariff, the assumptions and where each saving comes from?
- Then compare prices for the number of studies you actually do a month.
Run one of your own sites through Zorowatt: the first site analysis is free.
무료로 시작Sources
- HOMER Grid product page and pricing; UL Solutions price list
- Energy Toolbase pricing
- US DOE on REopt, REopt.jl on GitHub, REopt web tool
- PV*SOL premium
- PVsyst and PVsyst shop
- Furo, Furo press release, pv magazine, 17 Feb 2026
- Gridcog and Gridcog pricing
Last checked: 2026-10-30. Facts about other tools were read on 2026-10-28 from the pages linked next to them; prices and features change, so check the vendor's page before you rely on one. Examples marked illustrative are not real customers. This list is refreshed once a year.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best battery sizing software for commercial and industrial sites?
It depends on the job. For North American sites HOMER Grid has the tariffs built in; for a free optimiser with an API, REopt; for German, Austrian, Swiss or Spanish sites with operation from the same company, Furo; for Dutch, German or Romanian sites where the bill must be rebuilt and checked against the invoices, Zorowatt. Zorowatt wrote this article, so test the candidates on one of your own sites.
Did you test the other tools?
No. The facts about them come from their public pages, a press release and a trade magazine article, read on 2026-10-28. Where those pages did not say something, the article says so instead of guessing.
Which tools publish their prices?
On 2026-10-28: HOMER Grid ($4,200 a year, or $665 a month), PV*SOL premium (€845 + VAT a year), PVsyst (CHF 700 a year for Professional) and REopt (free) did. Energy Toolbase (ETB Developer), Furo and Gridcog did not. Zorowatt Starter is €49 a month for 3 site analyses, then €15 each; Pro is €149 a month with a white-label report and 3 seats. Your first site analysis is free, with no card, and its PDF report carries a watermark.
Can one tool do the PV design and the battery case?
Some try to. In practice many installers design the array in a PV tool such as PV*SOL or PVsyst and size the battery against the business's bill in a battery tool. Zorowatt models planned solar from PVGIS so it can size the battery; it is not a PV yield study. See how to size a battery for peak shaving.
Is a software result a guarantee of savings?
No tool's result is. Zorowatt gives feasibility estimates, not bankable guarantees or investment advice. What a good study gives you is a bill that matches the invoices and assumptions you can see and change.
