Skip to content
SMA

SMA Storage XL Package CSS-197-OUT-50-30 (CS-197-OUT-30 + STPS50-20)

Outdoor 197 kWh battery cabinet CS-197-OUT-30 with one Sunny Tripower Storage X 50 (STPS50-20) inverter; SMA Commercial Energy Meter required (ordered separately).

Cell supplier not stated in datasheet.

Short answer

The SMA SMA Storage XL Package CSS-197-OUT-50-30 (CS-197-OUT-30 + STPS50-20) is an LFP C&I battery cabinet (as specified: Outdoor 197 kWh battery cabinet CS-197-OUT-30 with one Sunny Tripower Storage X 50 (STPS50-20) inverter; SMA Commercial Energy Meter required (ordered separately)). Usable energy: 197 kWh. Max. discharge power: 50 kW. Round-trip efficiency: 98 % (DC). Warranty: 10 years.

Each figure is in the table below with its source and the day it was read.

Specifications

SpecValueSource
ChemistryLFPvpsolar.comDatasheet · read 28 Oct 2026
Usable energy197 kWhvpsolar.comDatasheet · read 28 Oct 2026
Nominal energyunavailableDatasheet states only usable energyNot published
Max. discharge power50 kWAC rated power of STPS50-20vpsolar.comDatasheet · read 28 Oct 2026
Max. charge power50 kWAC rated power of STPS50-20 (max DC 51 kW)vpsolar.comDatasheet · read 28 Oct 2026
C-rate0.25 Cderived: 50 kW / 197 kWh = 0.25; battery max C-rate 1C per datasheetvpsolar.comDatasheet · read 28 Oct 2026
Round-trip efficiency98 % (DC)Datasheet: 'Efficiency (battery) up to 98%' - battery-only, not explicitly labelled round-trip. Inverter max/Euro efficiency 98.0%/97.2%.vpsolar.comDatasheet · read 28 Oct 2026
Depth of dischargeunavailableNot published
Cycle life12,000 cyclesConditions: 'High-quality battery cells for up to 12000 charging cycles' - no test conditionsvpsolar.comDatasheet · read 28 Oct 2026
Warranty10 years10-year system and battery capacity warranty, valid only after registration with SMA; SMA warranty conditions applyvpsolar.comDatasheet · read 28 Oct 2026
Warranty cycles8,500 cycles'Maximum nominal energy throughput / max. guaranteed cycles: 6.5 MWh/kWh, 8500 cycles according to warranty conditions'; SMA product page also states 8,500 guaranteed cyclesvpsolar.comDatasheet · read 28 Oct 2026
Warranty throughput1,280.5 MWhderived: 6.5 MWh/kWh x 197 kWhvpsolar.comDatasheet · read 28 Oct 2026
Capacity at end of warrantyunavailableNot stated in datasheet or product pageNot published
Nominal voltage704 VOperating 616-792 Vvpsolar.comDatasheet · read 28 Oct 2026
Operating temperature−25 to 55 °COutdoor cabinet ambient; inverter -25 to +60 C with deratingvpsolar.comDatasheet · read 28 Oct 2026
Dimensions (W × D × H)1,150 × 1,375 × 2,120 mmOutdoor cabinet (shared value for 107/197 outdoor); inverter 772 x 837.3 x 443.8 mm, 104 kgvpsolar.comDatasheet · read 28 Oct 2026
Weight2,200 kgBattery cabinet total weightvpsolar.comDatasheet · read 28 Oct 2026
Ingress protectionIP55Cabinet IP55, C3; inverter IP65vpsolar.comDatasheet · read 28 Oct 2026
Integrated inverter (PCS)Yes, 50 kWPackage includes separate Sunny Tripower Storage X 50 invertervpsolar.comDatasheet · read 28 Oct 2026
ScalabilityParallel connectability up to 4 systems; STPS as system manager up to 10 devices, SMA Data Manager M up to 50 devicesvpsolar.comDatasheet · read 28 Oct 2026
CertificationsIEC 61000, IEC 62619, UN 38.3, IEC 62477, IEC 60730, VDE 2510, IEC 63056, REACH, RoHSvpsolar.comDatasheet · read 28 Oct 2026
Compatible invertersSMA Sunny Tripower Storage X 30 (STPS30-20), SMA Sunny Tripower Storage X 50 (STPS50-20)vpsolar.comDatasheet · read 28 Oct 2026
Datasheetvpsolar.comversion CSSX-30-DS-en-12 · dated 2026-05 · read 28 Oct 2026
Notes

Official SMA datasheet read from distributor-hosted copy (VP Solar). Successor of discontinued Sunny Tripower Storage 60 / SMA Commercial Storage Solution (ESSX-30/50-20, NMC). Package launched 2026.

Sold in: EU

Prices

€44,317.47 per system — AceFlex (DE) 'SMA Storage XL Package 50kW / 197kWh outdoor' incl. 50 kW inverter; webshop net price excl. 19% German VAT; hardware only, no installation/commissioning/EMS/grid connection (Distributor, read 28 Oct 2026)Single listing; assumed to match the CSS-197-OUT-50-30 configuration based on the listing title (50 kW, 197 kWh, outdoor).

ListingPriceVAT and contentsSource
SMA Storage XL Package 50kW / 197kWh outdoorAceFlex (aceflex.de) · DE€44,317.47per systemexcl. 19% MwSt (DE); product pages note 0% under §12(3) UStG only for storage at/near residential/public buildings, otherwise 19%. Package incl. 50 kW inverter (per title)aceflex.deDistributor · read 28 Oct 2026

Listed prices are snapshots of public pages, not offers, and leave out installation, commissioning and shipping unless the listing says otherwise.

Questions

How much usable energy does the SMA SMA Storage XL Package CSS-197-OUT-50-30 (CS-197-OUT-30 + STPS50-20) store?
197 kWh (datasheet, vpsolar.com, read 28 Oct 2026), for this configuration: Outdoor 197 kWh battery cabinet CS-197-OUT-30 with one Sunny Tripower Storage X 50 (STPS50-20) inverter; SMA Commercial Energy Meter required (ordered separately).
What is the round-trip efficiency of the SMA SMA Storage XL Package CSS-197-OUT-50-30 (CS-197-OUT-30 + STPS50-20)?
98 % (DC) (datasheet, vpsolar.com, read 28 Oct 2026). DC means the battery alone, without the inverter.
What warranty does the SMA SMA Storage XL Package CSS-197-OUT-50-30 (CS-197-OUT-30 + STPS50-20) have?
10 years, 8,500 cycles, 1,280.5 MWh of throughput (datasheet, vpsolar.com, read 28 Oct 2026). The warranty document's own terms decide which limit comes first.
Does the SMA SMA Storage XL Package CSS-197-OUT-50-30 (CS-197-OUT-30 + STPS50-20) include an inverter?
Yes, it has an integrated power conversion system (PCS) rated 50 kW (datasheet, vpsolar.com, read 28 Oct 2026).
How much does the SMA SMA Storage XL Package CSS-197-OUT-50-30 (CS-197-OUT-30 + STPS50-20) cost?
Public listings read on 28 Oct 2026 put it at €44,317.47 per system, hardware as listed (source: aceflex.de; the Prices section gives each listing's VAT basis and contents). Listed prices are snapshots, not offers.